Slaves in the Confederacy – Civil War Memory

With thanks to Kevin Levin at “Civil War Memory for the following story.” Kevin Levin’s post today, at “Civil War Memory,” discusses honoring the slaves that survived the Confederacy:

http://cwmemory.com/2012/06/08/honor-slaves-for-surviving-the-confederacy/

About marcferguson

I teach history, including the American Civil War Era, as an Adjunct at American International College in Springfield, Ma. I also teach survey courses in U.S. history, Western Civilization, and World History, and have taught at other area colleges, including the University of Massachusetts/Amherst, and Holyoke Community College. While my academic background is in European History, my interest in the American Civil War began about a decade ago. Other areas of interest include Modernism, 20th century World Thought and Culture, The Rise of the West after 1400, 19th c. American Society and Culture, Central and Eastern European History and Culture, and Local History. I have in recent years cut back my teaching drastically in order to devote more time raising my kids (15 year old twins now), including working part-time at their elementary/middle school for the past 6 years, they are now launched and off to High School, and I plan to crank up my involvement in teaching history and local history projects, particularly in light of the American Civil War Sesquicentennial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment